My eyelid is driving me crazy

My left eyelid and sometimes my right lower lid has been constantly twitching.  Actually not constantly, but twitching for 5-15 seconds several times a day.  It’s been doing this for weeks.  I’m saying at least 3 and likely more like 5 weeks.

Potential causes I’ve found from the internet:

  • Stress
  • Fatigue
  • Lack of Sleep (although how this is different from Fatigue, I’m not sure)
  • Eye Strain
  • Lack of Potassium
  • Dehydration (due to alcohol and/or coke consumption)
  • too much caffeine
  • Tourettes, dry eyes, or other neurological issue

One eye twitching is called myokmia, on both eyes it’s called blepharospasm.  It is more common in women over 50 (even my body is dissing me – I’m not yet over 50).

In China, left eye twitching is foretells good luck. Hawaii says a stranger is coming. Other places think it’s because you’re going to cry soon. I think I like China’s version better, so I’m adopting that one as my own.

Not sure what to do, I don’t think I’m particularly stressed, but I do feel tired a lot (fatigue-check), and potentially not enough potassium since I hate bananas.  So, I’m prescribing for myself an avocado, an evening with my feet up, an early bedtime, and tea instead of wine.

2 thoughts on “My eyelid is driving me crazy

  1. I like blepharospasm, but I still have $5 on tumor, the same one that causes ‘green’ to be the same as ‘elephant’ in your speech…

    which reminds me, what is that called again?

Leave a Reply

